Happy Resurrection Day!

Hope you were all as eggcited as I was, and that you’ve had an eggcellent Easter!
(Points for trying?)
I did purchase Creme eggs and Haribos for myself! #LonerStudentLife

Coming back to the point of this post, I want us to reflect on what we’ve just celebrated and should celebrate every single day – The Resurrection of Christ!

My church’s Senior Pastor delivered this message on the 6th of April 2012, I have it written down on the back of my Teen Bible. (I’m still in denial over turning 21.)
I wanted it to remind me of the ultimate sacrifice made on my behalf; for a sinner.

Good Friday

Jesus spoke seven words on the cross. (seven statements)

  1. Luke 23:24 – Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” And they divided up his clothes by casting lots.
    –  As Christians, we believe that Jesus is the son of God and that he died on the cross for our sins. Most people these days would find that ridiculous! How can some person die for people he didn’t even know, and why, and what, and who again? I’ve asked these questions myself. (That’s a post for another day.)
    – So, Jesus died the death of an ordinary man. If He can forgive those who crucified Him, then who are we to judge now?
  2. Luke 23:43 – Jesus answered him, “Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.”
    – Here ‘you’ is the criminal who was nailed to a cross, as his punishment. Verse 41 says, “We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong”. 
    – We’ve done things that we regret, we as Christians note them down as ‘sins’. Why do we do what we do? That question confused me as well but really, why do we do … what we do? I often used to think that “ohh everything’s God’s will so my actions are basically determined by His plan”, which made it easier for me to blame God for a consequence of my own doings. We are given the ability to make our own choices or else this world would be a huge puppet show.
  3. John 19: 26-27 – When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to her, “Woman, here is your son,” and to the disciple,“Here is your mother.” From that time on, this disciple took her into his home.
    – What do we understand by this? In my opinion: Becoming one in Christ – New relationships are formed – Broken lives are made new. Simple as that!
  4. Mark 15: 34 – And at three in the afternoon Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” (which means “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”).
    – When I read this verse, I was certain that I had heard it before. Read Psalms 22:1 🙂
    – On the cross, He could bear mockery, pierced hands and legs that nailed Him to that very cross, His clothes were divided (I’ve read this in the Old Testament as well: King David wrote in Psalms 22:18 They divide my clothes among them and cast lots for my garment.) – Read point 1 in this post: They did cast lots of his garments. My point here being, He didn’t mind all this but once He felt the separation from God, He could not bear it.
  5. John 19:28 – Later, knowing that everything had now been finished, and so that Scripture would be fulfilled, Jesus said, “I am thirsty.”
    – Through this we know that Jesus obeyed God till His death.
    – He accomplished His purpose on Earth: to clear the debt the world owed to God, He wiped away the debt of sin.
    – And that He thirsts; here, Physical thirst. Also, He thirsts for you and me.
  6. John 19:29-30 – A jar of wine vinegar was there, so they soaked a sponge in it, put the sponge on a stalk of the hyssop plant, and lifted it to Jesus’ lips. When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.
    – This fulfills Psalms 69:21 “…and gave me vinegar for my thirst.”
    – Christ came to this Earth to finish what God started – The forgiveness of sin.
    – The purpose as to why Jesus was sent to us was to bring about a change to mankind. He did it. It is finished. All is said and done. You just have to believe and experience the change brought by your faith in Him.
  7. Luke 23:46 – Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.” When he had said this, he breathed his last.
    – Take a look at Psalms 31:5, it’s amazing how these words were in one of King David’s prayers: Into your hands I commit my spirit; deliver me, Lord, my faithful God.”

Easter

We are not here to mourn the death of Christ but to rejoice because He rose again. ‘Death’ is temporary!  The tomb couldn’t contain Him. He is risen indeed!

What can be more powerful than knowing we worship a living God?

The nails didn’t hold Him to the cross, it was His love for you and me.

John 11:25-26 – Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die;  and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

I’ll admit I found it difficult to write this post. I had to pause many a times and I held back from writing it well. I even saved it as a draft for about an hour and did nothing about it. By why should I shy away from the faith I have in Christ? What about his unfailing love for me? I’m saved by His amazing grace and I’m proud to call Him my saviour. I’ve been redeemed! I’ve been set free!

One thought on “Happy Resurrection Day!

  1. It was amazing and very touching to read “Happy Resurrection Day”. I could sense a feeling that this was written purely by His grace and His anointing upon you. God bless you and use you for HIS glory and divine purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

